Focusing (or trying to)

Is it easier to write with a specific focus in mind, or without one? I can’t help thinking that I need a topic for this blog, something to provide some boundaries in the infinite pool of things to blog about, but that might be because I’ve had it drilled into my head that writing must have a focus. Writing itself is usually more effective if it is focused, I think, but is it necessary to give a blog a focus before posting? If it is, I’ve broken that rule, although not very severely since this is my second post, following one written months ago. Writing for school is different from writing on your own anyway. When I’m writing an essay on the role of religion in Mesopotamian civilization, or something similar, I tend to think more about whether the requirements are being met than about whether I’ve written anything that is actually meaningful. It probably shouldn’t be that way, and it isn’t always; I suppose it depends on the teacher and the class. Writing outside of school (or, sometimes, work) has to be meaningful, because you are doing it for a reason other than to get a good grade (or, in the case of work, to get paid). That doesn’t answer the question about having a focus in mind for the blog, but I guess it might appear on its own after a few posts. There can be more than one, too. I won’t just metablog, I promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

